Elementary By the Numbers

3/27/24 SOLSC Day 27

All through my career the question, “Which grade level do you like the best?” has been a hard one to answer. Each has it pros and cons. After reading a post from a friend who is returning to the classroom after being an elementary instructional coach, I started thinking about what grade level I would choose. This is what emerged.

I like fifth graders’ attitude. They questioned the way things were and want it be better for them. I student taught fifth grade eons ago, and was a guest teacher for some in library & music.

I like fourth graders’ compassion. They wanted to make cards for their teacher & her very sick child. I taught fourth grade for five years.

I like third graders’ humor. They love jokes and appreciate a good one. I taught third grade for seven years. 

I like second graders’ curiosity. They want to know why/how for everything, like how rocks are made or why we use apostrophes. I taught second grade for 18 years.

I like first graders’ honesty. They will tell you when they don’t want to do something and why. I’ve been a guest teacher in first grade classes, and in library, music & Stem.

I like kindergarteners’ enthusiasm. They always say hi when they see me. (I’ve even been told I’m their favorite guest teacher ever!) I’ve been a guest teacher in kindergarten classes, and in library, music & Stem.

I also spent three years with “sixteenth graders” (aka college seniors) in a year-long student teaching program. At some point I was in every grade, K-4, and in most of my assigned classrooms twice a week.

After 36 1/2 years, I still don’t know which one is my favorite.

Do you have a favorite grade level or subject area?

Some of my more recent classrooms:


5 thoughts on “Elementary By the Numbers

  1. What a lovely, asset-based post about what is *best* about elementary kiddos at every grade. I think you’ve captured them in a nutshell! I think 3rd graders are my favorite, for now, even though here in Ohio they have so much stress on them, with state testing. I think they still are hopeful about their learning lives and can have a slew of feelings all in one day (which is both a + and a *$!#, too!).

    Like

  2. Linda, what a fun post. You’ve had some great experiences. I love how you gave something about each level that you appreciated. I am like you, I can’t decide which grade I liked the most. I had classroom experience in K, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8. I could never choose a favorite, but I had a funny experience in 2013 when I left teaching 7-8th in a small Catholic school in Iowa and moved to Bahrain, where I taught K English to Arabic-speaking students. What a cultural and educational psychology shock!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would have been a tough transition for you! I bet you learned SO much from it, though. Teaching is a career that so many people think they understand because they experienced it as a student. It’s so much more!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment