Listening to Grief, Part 2

3/30/24 SOLSC Day 30

If you didn’t check out my last post, I hope this makes sense. I decided to post this today, on the fourth anniversary of my dad’s passing, which happened 366 days after we lost Greg’s mom

I’m doing another neighborhood walk with my headphones on.  I recently finished episode 1 of “All There Is with Anderson Cooper” so today I started episode 2 about the same time I started my second mile. ( I made sure I had tissues in my pocket, just in case.)

Episode 2, “Grateful for Grief” starts with Anderson talking to Stephen Colbert about his losses and grief. They are discussing how they see grief as a lonely journey. They are also sharing that grief gets less painful over time and Stephen shares the realization he had at one point, saying, “I had a gratitude for the pain of that grief.  It does not take that pain away…. It (Gratitude) allows you to examine your grief in a way that it is not like holding up a red hot ember in your hands, but rather seeing that pain as something that can warm you, and light your knowledge of what other people might be going through.” 

I paused the podcast and thought about this for a moment. This, I get. I saw it first hand when my mother (and 18 months later my father) was in hospice, and Greg showed me he understood my pain. He knew that road upon which I was walking, having walked it himself. I, too, am consciously sharing my journey with others, hoping they take some measure of comfort in sharing our grief journeys. 

I finally resume listening. About ten minutes later, as I start the last section of today’s walk, Stephen talks about an interview he did with Andrew Garfield after the loss of his (Andrew’s) mother. Garfield said, “I love talking about her by the way, so if I cry it’s only like.. (pause).. it’s only a beautiful thing. I hope this grief stays with me because it’s all the unexpressed love I didn’t get to tell her.”

This time I stop in my tracks, back up the podcast and listen again. Now I’m tearing up as I think, Yes, grief IS all the unexpressed love I didn’t get to share! I finally get moving, and finish my walk while hearing that sentence replay in my head – hearing the emotion in his words when he paused as his voice cracked. I think that this podcast is going to take time to get through, especially if I end up stopping and starting. But maybe that’s how it’s supposed to be. A journey isn’t just the destination; it’s also about the stops on the way. 

It’s all the unexpressed love… 

Thanks to Season 1, Episode 2 of “All There Is with Anderson Cooper”


5 thoughts on “Listening to Grief, Part 2

  1. Linda, I didn’t get to read part 1, so after reading part 2 I popped back over to part 1. Grief is very hard and I am now intrigued to listen to these podcasts myself. I ‘love’ that last line…because it’s very true-grief IS the unexpressed love we didn’t get to share…and that is sending me on a whirlwind of thoughts. Thank you for sharing your stories. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it is important to talk about our loved ones who have passed. It helps us remember them and why they were so special to us. After reading your posts, my only hope is that someone will think enough of me to talk about me when I am gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read your lovely post yesterday about the loss of Greg’s mom, and your bond of caring was so clear. Here you’ve helped us all understand grief through the perambulating podcast, a walk with and through.
    There is a poem by Cynthia Zarin called “Flowers” that I have affixed to the wall before me. I read it yesterday, (how many times has it been now? I hope I’ll never stop revisiting words that tap into the “unexpressed love”…love with nowhere else to go) after you closed your post with all the flower photos. I saw the lilies. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment