In Awe

5/6/24

So much over this last week has caused me to just stare in awe, at the vastness of Horseshoe Bend, at the Strength of the Glen Canyon Dam, at the incredibleness of both Lower & Upper Antelope Canyons. I am often in awe of what I find in nature, which is one of the reasons why I like spending time in it! The unexpected view, the flowers peeking from behind bushes, the colors of a bird, the vastness of the sky… all bring me peace. 

A long time ago I tried some meditation activities. One was to picture a place that brought me peace. I have always pictured the dam my grandpa helped his father build. I spent hours there, fishing, exploring, sitting, listening. It was calm & quiet, with only the buzz of insects, the calls of frogs and the songs of birds (and the occasional plane overhead). 

Maybe having such a meaningful place to visualize encouraged me to think of nature as peaceful. (I’m sure lots of others find nature peaceful, too!) I think it’s also encouraged me to seek out other places – if a dam on my grandparents’ farm can cause me to feel this way, then there must be other places that will do the same. 

And this is one reason why we decided to come out here, to Arizona, to start the part of our trip that involves staying multiple days exploring.

Going through pictures, deleting blurry or duplicates, still leaves me with hundreds. HUNDREDS. Since no one wants to sit through them all, here are just a few. I hope looking at them will bring you some peace, too.


8 thoughts on “In Awe

  1. Beautiful photos embracing nature at its finest. Love hearing about your adventures. :) Walnut Canyon was a fun, quiet hike…but I’ve not been to Antelope Canyon or Horseshoe Bend…yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Wow (the photos)! All the preparation you both did has paid, is paying off. I remember the post you wrote about your grandfather’s dam during March; it sounded like the perfect place to be! Keep in the peace; that’s the great place to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! I love travel, too, and will never forget my visit to Utah, where we came upon Arches National Park as the sun was setting and a storm was clearing. The pictures will never do it justice, but they help to spark the memories that do live on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment