Being Myself and Living with Gratitude

7/20/23

It’s been four years today since we said vows to each other.

It’s been five years and 49 weeks since our first date.

It’s been less than thirty minutes since I thought about how grateful I am to have this man in my life, this man who loves me just as I am.

He sees the true me, the one who is loving, passionate (and sometimes opinionated) and respectful. He understands the frustrations, worries and tears. He laughs at the good jokes, groans at the bad puns, and smiles at the goofiness. We have goals together – to travel more, to be more mindful, to take up yoga, to exercise together, to find ways to relax.

We chose to have us both retire a little early so we can do these things together, because we both learned the life lesson that you just don’t know what’s ahead. Here are some of my current reminders to myself. What would you add?

So take the trip I’ve always wanted to do. (Next spring is our big one.)

Contact the people who have been on my mind. (Still doing this.)

Try out that new recipe with ingredients that don’t seem like they go together. (I’ll let you know my newest creation tastes. I know the texture will be “grainy”, since I found out my food processor is not strong enough.)

Be grateful for what I have, instead of worrying what the future will bring. (I’m trying! I am actively working on this, I promise.)

Frequently tell those I love that I love them. Say it louder for those in the back. (Every day.)

Honor myself & allow me to be who I really am, every day that I can. (His easy acceptance of me encourages me to stay true to myself. What a gift!)

Happy Anniversary!


Leave a comment