Practicing Being Proactive

3/9/24 SOLSC Day 9

Driving an RV requires you to be proactive. 

This thing is big and takes a long time to come to a stop. Ours is a diesel, so it has an engine brake – when you take your foot off the gas, it automatically starts decelerating. That’s a very weird feeling and takes a while to get used to. 

When you are driving something bigger than your normal vehicle, you also need to watch the size of the road’s shoulder, signs that are too close, and overhanging trees. When your bigger vehicle is an apartment on wheels, you also need to watch for bad roads so you don’t shake all your items out of their storage places. 

Added to this is the knowledge that a 34 foot rig can’t really do a “3 point turn”, so you better have space if you need to turn around. When you are towing a vehicle behind you, you can’t back up. 

Yikes.

Yes, I could ask Greg to do all the driving. There are a few problems with that. We entered this camping journey together, so I believe I should do a share of the driving. (I’ll admit, I maybe do a quarter of it. Some is better than none.) And what if he gets sick or injured and can’t drive? That would NOT be the best time to learn! Lastly, I just feel like a bad a$$ when I’m in the driver’s seat. A nervous bad a$$, but one nonetheless, working continuously to drive proactively.

So when we had to take the RV for an appointment…

What makes you feel like a bad a$$?

From our last trip in 2023.


4 thoughts on “Practicing Being Proactive

  1. Oh my goodness, I was engrossed in the caution required for driving a big rig and was treated to a great laugh at the end with you feeling like a BadA$$ driving. On the heals of International Women’s Day…Girl Power! 

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are definitely a bad a$$. 🙂 

    Loved reading this – I feel like it would be so hard to drive one of these… considering in general my spatial reasoning is not so great… but I would love to learn anyway! 

    This is reminding me of a phone conversation I overheard at a rest stop bathroom last week, actually… and now I think maybe I’ll slice about that! 🙂

    Like

  3. I want to see a picture of the newer RV. This is my hope for retirement, but it is not my wife’s idea of fun. Negotiation ensues. I remember driving vans for camp, with canoe trailers. It presented some big challenges, especially in small parking areas for put-ins. Backing up was counterintuitive for me, and having an audience of teenagers made it a wee bit more stressful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment