The Struggle is Real… at the Gym

3/13/24 SOLSC Day 13

It’s in my line of sight as I sit on my machine, so it’s obvious to me. I bet she sees it.

Wait, she’s walking to the back of the machine. Maybe she’s just checking it out… She walks around to the front and fiddles with the weights. Does she see it? Does she not?? If she doesn’t, should I say something?  I can see her as I start my reps.

One, two. She’s looking right at the machine. She sees it. Wait, now she’s getting on the machine, trying to move the levers.

Three, four. What do I do? Do I tell her? Do I not? Do I let someone else tell her?

Five, six, I think, If it were me,  would I want someone to tell me? (Would I feel embarrassed that I didn’t figure that as I walked to the machine?)

Seven, eight,  But would I want people sitting in this small room, watching me struggle with this machine, knowing that I didn’t pay attention??

Nine,  I jump up from my machine. I walk across the small room and stop in front of her and say, “I don’t think this one’s working today.” She responds with a puzzled, “Oh?” I point. “Oh,” she repeats.

Awkward silence.

Before I walk away, I look at her and say, “Well, I just didn’t want you to get hurt.” ”Oh, thanks.” I walk away, shaking my head at myself thinking I don’t even know her. Why would I say that?. I don’t know. But at least, now she knows! I go back to my reps, feeling slightly stupid, and also better.

Can you tell what the two signs say?
(Out of Order!)
I would rather be sitting in the 67 degree weather, watching spring happen! But I’m going to the gym 2-3 times a week.

9 thoughts on “The Struggle is Real… at the Gym

  1. What a kind gesture! Also, how did she not see those signs? I love the way you narrate your inner thoughts without telling us what it is that you are seeing. You really had me guessing – toilet paper on her shoe? Untied laces? Nothing quite made sense until your reveal. Fun to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the brain conversation. In the end, I think you did the right thing. I know that I would have wanted someone to tell me the machine was out of order before I got on and tried to use it. I also like the build up to your reveal as to wat was going on.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great suspense building throughout, but seriously did that sign say, “Out of Order?” But still…it’s always the right thing to help someone out. And yes, give me outdoors over indoors any time! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment